The More I Get the Language — The More Fun I Have!

(July 2, 2012)   Family!  How is everything going?  I want updates on all of you.  Sorry you guys haven’t heard much from me.  I promise I’m trying my hardest to write every week!  So I got a scary phone call this week about a death in our family.  So Don died?  What happened?  Did he fall or was it in his sleep of was he sick?  I’m gonna miss him!  I hope grandma is alright.  Let me know the details.  Thank you so much mom for your weekly letters – they’re awesome and I look forward to them each week!  The last one I got was the one about the wild hail storm but I think I’ve got more sitting at the Zone Leaders house.  Yea — keep sending snail mail, we can’t rely on emailing.  But anyway, how am I doing?  I’m doing pretty good!  I’m actually kind of sick right now.  I think I got super dehydrated yesterday for Fast Sunday.  But I’m feeling better now.  But other than that things are great!  This week has been a pretty good one.  I’m getting the language better and better as the days go on and the more I get the language down the more fun I have each and every day!  I’ve been able to start teaching quite a bit lately so I don’t feel completely useless (there is a guy who wanders around the island whose name is Useless).  It’s still hard to understand people sometimes, but it’s getting there.  I’m working my hardest at getting it down.  The people here are straight up Lamanite descendants out here.  Their culture hasn’t been influenced much by anyone else.  They have tribes and chiefs and everything.  It’s pretty crazy.  They also have a ton of customs here that it talks about the Lamanites having in the Book of Mormon.  I love how much I’m learning about this gospel out here!  It’s ridiculous!  Every time I teach someone, I feel like I’m learning more and more and it’s so amazing.  New things will pop into my head that I never even thought about before and connections are made. It’s soooo cool.  My favorite part of my day is waking up and having that hour to read the Book of Mormon and try to learn more things.  Thank you guys for all that you’ve done for me throughout my life.  I feel so blessed and sooo privileged to have been born into such an amazing family!  You guys are the best and I love you all sooo much!

Love, Elder Johnson

 

Leave a Reply

